Home > Academics > Aided Courses > Commerce > Senior College > Economics


Senior College - Economics

History of Department

The Department of Economics is as old as the college which was established in 1948. It is a four member department. The department has been catering to students in the Commerce stream along with the Humanities stream since 1980. The first head of the department was Mr. Gajra followed by Mrs. Maya Mirapuri, Dr. Harver, Mrs. Adarsh Suri and Dr Anuradha Kalhan Siddique. The department is currently headed by Ms Sarita Jai Shankar. The department offers a full majors program in the final year to the cream of students enrolled in the BA program which enhances their theoretical and practical knowledge of the subject and equips them for further specialization in the field. It also increases their employability. The department has a record of a hundred percent passing at the University examinations for the Economics majors besides a majority passing with a first division.


About the Department

The Department of Economics caters to students of both the Commerce and Humanities streams. It offers a full majors program in the final year of BA only to the best. The syllabus taught by the faculty includes nine papers of Economics at the BA level and three papers of Business Economics at the B Com level. The department has also started catering to the MCom students from the current academic year.


Current Achievements of the Department

A vibrant Economics Association, which is almost twenty years old now, is the chief source of the department’s pride. It organizes seminars, book reviews, film shows, talks and lectures by scholars, industry experts, bankers, ex-students etc. It ensures active participation by students in Inter College Festivals - both at local and national level, with outstanding performances by the students- Econundrum (St Xaviers’), Gnaritas (Mithibhai), Ka Ching (NMIMS), Econovista (LSR), Altius and Esprit (Christ), Zenith (Miranda house) to name a few. The association organized its first intra-college Economics festival – Arthanomics in 2013-14 and turned this event into a highly successful Inter-college National Economics festival in the year 2014-15. Colleges from all over the country including IIT Bombay, Lady Shri Ram College, Christ College, Symbiosis School of Economics, Miranda House, St. Xavier's College, HR College participated in the event. 2015-16 saw the event go to bigger heights with an increased participation from outside colleges such as Loyla –Chennai and Jhadhavpur University. The association is aiming to convert this into an international event this academic year. The association also comes out with its annual magazine The Contrarian which consists of articles and trivia written by the students on a variety of topics. The latest edition of the magazine can be found here – http://issuu.com/thecontrarian_2015

The department has also been sending their contingent for The International Economics Convention organized by the HSNC Board annually which gives the students the unique opportunity to undertake research at Under-graduate level. The students of our college were the proud winners of the coveted trophy for the year 2012-13.

Many of our students secure admission at prestigious institutions like London Business School, Stern, Delhi School of Economics, Jawaharlal Nehru University, London School of Economics and Political Science, University of Warwick, Barcelona Graduate School of Economics and pursue further studies in Economics, Finance, and Management.

On the placements front, our students have been picked up by companies like Google, RBI, Ernst & Young, KPMG, JLL, Edelweiss, Tres Vista, Zomato, Crisil, Royal Bank of Scotland and successful NGOs like Teach for India from campus and have thus made entry into the diverse fields of finance, research, social work, banking, start-ups, teaching, and civil services at the professional level. In the year 2013-14, 48% of the aspiring students from the department were successfully placed in aforementioned companies. Our students have also been awarded fellowships at Young India Fellowship (YIF), Legislative Assistants to Members of Parliament (LAMP)


Key achievements by students in the year 2014-15:

  • JaaiVipra won Global Debate and Public Policy challenge organized by Global public policy Institute, Open Society Foundations and Central European University organized at Budapest, Hungary and won a scholarship of $10,000.
  • Anjali Taparia secured admission at London School of Business as well as Stern (Ivy league) with scholarship, a first in the history of the department.
  • Prashant Maheshwary was awarded the Priyadarshini Scholarship, a scholarship given to only 200 students from across the country, for all round excellence.
  • DhritiJhaveri secured 96 percentile in CAT and received call for interview from 4 IIMs


Activities of the department

Economic Association


  • Make the subject interesting by taking learning out of the classrooms
  • Develop the overall personality and confidence of the students
  • Build organizational skills and other soft skills
  • Inculcate team work

Annual Activities:

  • Arthanomics
  • Intra department seminars
  • Book review
  • Guest lectures
  • Movie / Documentary viewing
  • Paper presentation
  • Debates
  • Field trip/ Industrial Visit


  • Democratic - run by students, for the students and of the students
  • Office bearers, selected from each year, have a one year term
  • Certificates given to office bearers on successful completion of term
  • Nominal membership fee charged from members which makes it self-financed
  • Membership extended to students from other streams. 2014-15 saw the largest enrolment with 163 members from across faculties

Future objective:

  • To increase the scope and reach of the activities
  • Greater student participation through constant motivation



"Add economic value in everything we do"


Faculty - Dept. of Economics - Senior College

  • Sarita Jai Shankar – Assistant Professor
    MA, Delhi School of Economics

  • Vaidehi S Dhamankar - Assistant Professor
    MA, MPhil, School of Social Sciences, Gujarat University

  • Mousumi Mazumdar - Assistant Professor
    MA, Mumbai University

  • Oindrila Dey - Assistant Professor
    MA, PhD (submitted), Jadavpur University